No Socks for Me.

SocksI hate socks.

Ever since I was little, if someone told me to make a list of things I hated, ‘socks’ would always be one of the top items on the list.
Worser socks are socks with toes. Even grosser are wet socks with toes.

Socks with toesSo, for me, it’s awesome that Austin has such warm, dry weather that we only need socks for maybe a month or two. I always hang on to my flip-flops as long as I can, and even in the coldest weather I still try to figure out ways to avoid wearing socks.

Most people in Texas will be thinking, ‘What’s the big deal about not wearing socks?’
Well, that’s because you’re in Texas. In other places, it is a huge deal. Places like Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania lies entirely within the humid continental zone, and has cold long winters and cool summers. Perfect weather for socks.
Apparently, they get so sick of socks that they have even declared May 8th as “No Socks Day.”

HolidayInsights.com says,

No Socks Day is a day to free your toes of the confines of socks and stocking. Give those toes of yours a breath of fresh air. The creators of this day also profess that No Socks Day will reduce your laundry load, and therefore, is healthy for the environment.
It’s easy to participate in No Socks Day. Just leave your socks and stocking off, and let your toes enjoy a moment in the sun!

It must be terrible up there, having to actually declare a day to not wear socks! I would be very unhappy living there.

Austin is the place for happy toes. So I love Austin!

-Jane

Happy Toes

P.S.
Interesting sidebar.. the guy who created No Socks Day is Tom Roy, who played the crazy street evangelist in the movie 12 Monkeys (an awesome movie, if I may say.).

1 Response to “No Socks for Me.”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    LOVING the Pennsylvania shout out. Although I might argue that our summer’s aren’t necessarily cool. Summer nights can be, but we usually get 4-5 days in the 90s. I guess for most Texans this is laughable?

    And I’m with you on the “glove-like” toe socks. What is that, and why does it need to exist?


Leave a Reply

