Gentrification!

The Village is to Brooklyn, what Central/ Downtown Austin is to the East side.

Out with the old and in with the new. Brooklyn is where everything is happening. Many of the featured bands at this year’s ACL came from Brooklyn. There are five-star restaurants there, the real estate prices are growing and condos are going up along the East River. Longtime Brooklyn residents are protesting the demolition of historical buildings and zoning regulations…

Listing for an East Side Condo by Austin Living Properties

Listing for an East Side Condo by Austin Living Properties

A similar situation is happening here in our fair city of Austin. The East Side just hosted it’s 7th annual “East Austin Studio Tour.” Condominiums are being erected throughout the area, and with them more bars are opening and high-end clothing stores are selling their wares.

Knowing a of a new place to go to eat or drink in East Austin is something many Austinites regard as “cool.” To know where to go on the East Side is a mark of someone “in the know,” someone who has the inside scoop.

Many of the places to go to on the East Side are really awesome, they’re a lot more relaxed than bars downtown and are perfectly kitschy.  I like them a lot- but, there are times when I do think about the people getting kicked out of homes they have lived in for their entire lives, and it makes the evening a little bittersweet.

In the video below, Professor Gene Burd from UT talks about gentrification in Austin and his experiences…

However…It is, what it is… so, I say enjoy it!

There are excellent restaurants and hangouts. Take advantage of it. Or don’t.

Here is a list of places to check out.

-Samantha

4 Responses to “Gentrification!”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 30, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    What a great post, Samantha! First of all, big Gene Burd fan. How can you not be? Secondly, I think his point at the end really hit the nail on the head–gentrification is a paradox. On the whole, it’s often for the betterment of the city, but I don’t think the end justifies the means in all cases. With Austin’s booming development, though, I doubt many will be able to stop the slide along this slippery slope.

  2. 2 Rachel November 30, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Someday I’m going to open the paper and see Burd’s obit and I’m going to be SOOO sad. Hopefully it won’t be a death due to his daily walks from South Austin to campus. He was one of the most useful professors I ever had, and that said half the class reported him to the ombudsman the first day due to some of his rather frank comments about the Hurricane Katrina situation. I wonder what he would say about my East Side bungalow?

  3. 3 jude galligan December 1, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Hey Samantha, i wanted to give you a heads up via email, but I couldn’t find a contact page (sorry). The loft in your post is actually the Avenue Lofts on 5th street.

    Before I moved downtown, I lived on Chicon, just off of 11th. There is plenty of room for improvement – 12th and Chicon is not a cool place to be! I do think there is a lot of resentment towards the “new money” that came to East Austin over the past few years. Whether it’s gentrification or revitalization depends on your individual perspective. But, honestly, until some progressive neighbors moved there, the East side was very segregated. Some of my favorites were (are) East Side Pies, Dandelion Cafe (R.I.P.), and Hot Mamas.

    I think the East side in a good place now – so long as Gene’s PoBoys remains!

    -Jude, Downtown Austin Blog

  4. 4 geryko.com January 29, 2013 at 10:14 pm

    Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it very hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking
    about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Thanks


Leave a Reply

