No more [Dhaba] Joy.

This was the storefront to Dhaba Joy.

This was the storefront to Dhaba Joy.

I am a vegetarian, and often enjoy the vegan treats scattered around Austin at places like Mother’s Cafe and, until this fall, Dhaba Joy. Indeed, I had not found a better place for vegan cupcakes, cookies and cake. Dhaba Joy was a delicious vegan haven, and they began to expand their deliciousness to include deli sandwiches and other meal-type foods. However, this past fall, they opened their doors for the final time. I still haven’t figured out why for certain, but I know it’s a travesty. Dhaba Joy became incredibly popular in its short time on the other side of Toy Joy, and it is missed by many. There are rumors that the bakers will continue to create their delicious treats, but I have found nothing to confirm this yet. I hate that you are gone, sweet Dhaba Joy.

Does anyone know of any other great places for vegan baked goods? Or perhaps, have you heard where the bakers from Dhaba Joy are headed?

Munch on,

Caitlin

1 Response to “No more [Dhaba] Joy.”


  1. 1 Samantha G. November 30, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    I never had the chance to go to Dhaba Joy… but I always wondered what Dhaba meant.

    I had really intended to go there. I have recently discovered that my favorite chocolate chip cookies are vegan from Wheatsville. They are so delicious… I don’t know of any bakeries that solely sell vegan baked goods but I know that Quack’s 43rd Street Bakery has vegan cookie and vegan-cake truffle.


Leave a Reply

