Holiday traveling.

Austin, being located in the middle of the state of Texas, is in a perfect location for beautiful day trips. Because it is now the holiday season, my dad and I went shopping for a pine tree today. To be honest, we drove from San Antonio, but since San Antonio is only about an hour and a half away from Austin, the tree place we went to would only add about ten minutes to your drive.

If you celebrate Christmas, Pipe Creek, Texas is a fantastic place to pick up your tree. The Pipe Creek Christmas Tree Farm is open until December 21st, and it is a wonderful farm with a huge spread of trees. The farm offers saws so you can cut your own trees, or you can get help from the workers there. There are also measuring sticks, because the farm charges by the foot. They also offer hayrides and, on specified dates, pictures with Santa!

This is the map to the farm.

This is the map to the farm.

The best thing about this farm is the drive. I highly, highly recommend getting onto TX 16, because the drive is gorgeous – hills scattered with red, yellow and orange treetops. It was perfect today, because the wintry clouds just barely kissed the hilltops. Please be careful when you’re driving along the winding roads, though – there was actually a fatal accident today.

Pretty drives to day-trip locations are absolutely something I love about Austin. What’s your favorite day trip? Let me know!

Happy Holidays,

Caitlin

2 Responses to “Holiday traveling.”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 30, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Hmm, I had different expectations when I saw the title “Holiday Traveling,” haha. That does sound like a great trip, though. I’m glad the place my family goes to doesn’t charge by the foot–my dad has this obsession with finding the tallest tree that will fit in our ten-foot family room. A few years ago, we bought him a chainsaw because inevitably he’d bring a tree home that was too big, and would have to chop off a foot or two in the driveway.

  2. 2 Samantha G. November 30, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    I am from San Antonio as well… and I like to take the scenic route home if I’m not in a hurry. It is a beautiful drive through Dripping Springs, Johnson City and Blanco. My favorite part of the drive is this one hill while you’re going through Blanco… when you get to the top, there is a PERFECT view of the Hill Country.

    Regarding Day trips… I like to go to Enchanted Rock near Frederickburg.


Leave a Reply

