Walkin’ on Sunshine

Thanksgiving is right around the corner, folks! It’s a little hard to believe that we’re less than a week away from December already. Is it just me, or does it feel like we just finished sweeping up from the “Happy 2008” New Year’s parties?

A beautiful West Texas sunset, as provided by espanol.wunderground.com.

A beautiful West Texas sunset, as provided by espanol.wunderground.com.

Like many people, we’re coming up on my favorite time of the year. Thanksgiving is actually my favorite holiday–you get the family part, like Christmas, but without all the glitz and glamor. Living in Austin these past four years has been an odd adjustment though. Namely, where are all the clouds?

For starters, Texas is one of the country’s top 5 “sun states.” Oh sure, Florida claims to be the “Sunshine State,” but anyone who’s been there knows it rains at about 2 p.m. every day. Growing up in Pennsylvania, cold temperatures arrived toward the end of September, and along with them came the gray clouds of winter. The sun makes its next appearance in mid-March. This may sound like a ridiculous hyperbole, and of course I’m exaggerating, but if you’ve lived there, you know what I mean. Austin, on the other hand, averages about 300 days of sun each year. I’m no mathematician, (hence the journalism major,) but that’s a high percentage. [Editor’s note: So I was torn between what I wrote above or “I’m no mathematician, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, and that seems like a high percentage.” Preference?]

Anyway, I know the majority of native-Texans go about their daily lives without ever giving this any thought. But move north and find out what Joni Mitchell (or these people) is (are) singing about—you don’t know what you got ’til it’s gone. So, bottom line… be thankful.

-Jeff

2 Responses to “Walkin’ on Sunshine”


  1. 1 Caitlin W November 25, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    I vote for the “Holiday Inn” version, I laughed out loud:) Truly, this time of year is my favorite for Austin weather – I feel like the clouds look different at night when it’s winter, and they are SO beautiful. When I take the bus in early to campus Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, I always love seeing the beautiful sky all pink and purple and gorgeous. Great post!

  2. 2 Seiguiffpix December 26, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    How are you? your website is cool
    I have a new band and we just had a live gig you can see here:
    http://tinyurl.com/7x2s6l


Leave a Reply

