To the guy who broke into my apartment:

Thank you.

No, seriously, thank you.

I’m writing this on my girlfriend’s laptop because you currently have mine. Also, both of my roommates’. You walked into an (unlocked) house bursting with expensive goods-video games, game equipment, musical instruments-and walked out with the least valuable of them. Seriously, those computers? Probably worth $200 a piece. Maybe. There was video game equipment in one of the bedrooms worth more than all of them combined.

But, GWBIMA, I assume you knew that, because you took all of our computers out of our respective rooms. Why you missed out on larger chances for fun and profit is, I must confess, beyond me. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I would have burgled my place differently. But I guess if I had stolen my laptop, I’d still have it.

Now, GWBIMA, I assume as you’re reading this, toggling periodically between this page and the eBay auction on which you are, even now, fencing my HP DV2000, you’re wondering what in the name of God any of this has to do with Austin. “Does Saul,” you perhaps wonder, “think that I am sufficiently representative of this town to symbolize something he loves/hates about it?”

Well, GWBIMA, to answer your question, yes and no. Yes, I love Austin for being the kind of place where my roommates and I were able to leave our door unlocked for almost a semester without incident, where we were able to feel like our neighborhood was totally welcoming and safe. It was something that always struck me about this place, that though there are 800,000 here it always feels like a small town. Every time I walked away from my place and didn’t lock the door, I was reminded of that. I kind of liked it.

But, GWBIMA, I guess what I’m trying to say is, that wasn’t reality, was it? No matter where you go, there will be people who are going to do shitty things, and you have to protect yourself. My romantic view of Austin was a fantasy, a dream. And thanks to you, I guess I realize that.

So thanks. Enjoy my laptop.

Shmuck.

6 Responses to “To the guy who broke into my apartment:”


  1. 1 Brittany November 25, 2008 at 7:12 am

    Oh Saul I am so sorry about your place getting broken into! There must be something in the air cause it happened to my parents last week (in our small town of 9,000). I hope you are able to get something back – my fingers are crossed for you.

  2. 2 Caroline Page November 25, 2008 at 8:38 am

    Oh I can sympathize with you! Although I can’t complain about ever having a laptop stolen – I don’t know what I would do if someone stole my laptop – I’d be completely lost! My old car got broken into 3 times – twice in front of my high school (austin high – terrible parking situation) and once in the middle of the night at my parent’s house. It’s the worst feeling in the world when that happens – you feel completely violated and it’s creepy to think someone has been in your house! So sorry about your break-in!!!

  3. 3 Lavanna Martin November 25, 2008 at 9:18 am

    Check the crime statistics for your ‘hood – you will probably be surprised.

    A lot of neighbors in Rosedale were complaining about the increase in crime in our neighborhood a couple of years ago. Somebody on the neighborhood list-serve checked the crime stats, and they had actually gone down. We were all surprised.

    ~Lavanna

  4. 4 Briana C November 29, 2008 at 6:25 pm

    Saul,
    did you see the article in the texan about the crime rate in riverside? It’s fallen thanks to increased officer patrolling. I think the crime rate is actually higher in west campus. Isn’t that interesting? Anyway, sorry about your lappy top 😦 I live with 6 girls, and we ALWAYS lock our doors. I think that boys just don’t think about safety as much as girls have to. Also, I live North of campus in a neighborhood, so here are weirdo’s around. What area of austin do you live in?

  5. 5 Jane Kim December 1, 2008 at 9:43 am

    That’s horrible. I’m so sorry that happened to you. Crime in Riverside does suck a lot. I have 2 friends that had their cars broken into last year, and two weeks ago my boyfriend actually caught a group of car robbers. He lives in Longhorn Landing and saw them trying to break into cars from his patio and called the cops on them. The police said that robbers target students because they are somewhat more careless with security, and they always have the newest electronics. It’s pretty sad how shitty humans can be.

  6. 6 can ho nassim quan 2 June 4, 2016 at 11:58 pm

    I read this post completely concerning the difference of latest and previous technologies, it’s awesome
    article.


Leave a Reply

