The Birds.

Watch this crazy video shot in front of a Petsmart in Austin first.

Need I say more?

Austin has these huge hordes of crows that hang out in big parking lots. The H.E.B. on Riverside is a hot spot for them, as well as the parking lots of Barton Creek and Highland Mall.

Bird flock in front of Barton Creek Mall in Austin. -photo by ThatWouldBeSeven

Bird flock in front of Barton Creek Mall in Austin. -photo by ThatWouldBeSeven

Sometimes you’ll pass an electric wire that seems unusually thick.. and then realize it’s because birds are sitting on them so densely that they form a continuous thick line.

They freak me out because it reminds me of Alfred Hitchcock‘s horror movie called The Birds where masses of birds just suddenly start attacking the people.

Original poster of The Birds.

Original poster of The Birds.

Plus, they are so LOUD. AND they POOP A LOT too.

I once parked under a tree, foolishly congratulating myself for the good luck of being able to park in the shade… and when I returned to my car it was so coated with bird crap to the point that it was almost unrecognizable.
Ugh!!!! I still shudder at the memory of having to scrape of the bird crap on my door handle with a business card just so I could get it open.

It was so disgusting.
blech..

-Jane

3 Responses to “The Birds.”


  1. 1 Lavanna Martin November 20, 2008 at 9:00 am

    I’ve been waiting for my chance to complain about this aspect of Austin. I wanted to start a blog titled, “Filth&Foul”.

    My personal “EWWWWW” is at the BlockBuster sign at the Burnett Road/Koening location. The inside of the ribbon-shaped sign is smeared and globbed with pigeion dookie. I would take a picture, but later…if you really want to see it.

    Thank you for existing,

    ~Lavanna Martin

  2. 2 jeffbechdel November 20, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    True story: At the tender age of, I don’t know… 7 or so, I was walking down to the beach at night with my two older brothers and cousin. We were about to play our annual Wiffle Ball game on the beach as the sun was setting when my middle brother threw a used popsicle stick at my head. Literally, out of no where 30 seagulls divebombed me. I’m not talking any kind of seagull, either. I vacation in Jersey. They have white bodies, gray wings and black heads. Check this guy out. Anyway, I think they thought I was feeding them because of the sugar on the popsicle stick? Who knows. So I ran down the beach with my head over my hands and fell at the feet of my oldest brother who shooed them away for me. Needless to say I was traumatized and have been, let’s say “extremely distrustful” of birds ever since.

  3. 3 Holley N November 23, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Also a true story: About a month ago I was walking with my friends to go eat. I was wearing my brand new, white shirt walking down the sidewalk talking on the phone. As I went under the tree (in my white shirt,) I felt something drop on me. I looked down and the bird had gone all over my white shirt. Did I mention my shirt was WHITE? Needless to say, I went home changed and washed the shirt about a million times with bleach. Obviously, it was not my day. Now, when I walk to class, I go out of my way to walk around that tree to avoid the gross birds. What in the world? I thought things like that only happened in movies.


Leave a Reply

