Music Venue Spotlight: The Parish

Today, I’m loving what I consider to be the best live music venue in Austin, Texas:  The Parish.

The eclectic decor at The Parish. (Photo by Joedie Villanueva)

The eclectic decor at The Parish. (Photo by Joedie Villanueva)

I have been to this venue at least 4 times (twice to see the New York band stellastarr*, and twice for Norwegian superstar Sondre Lerche.) Personally, I love its intimacy, the fact that it is indoors, and the subsequent lack of smoke for me to inhale huge gulps of. However, I don’t want you to just take my word for it. So, I conducted a brief Facebook survey to see what other music lovers thought, good and bad, of the 6th Street staple.

First, my brother (who you met in my video post) weighed in.  He said, “I do like the vibe, the closeness to the musicians and the smaller space. But I do think the parish could do more to promote its shows.”

Ramon Ramirez, former editor of The Daily Texan’s Life & Arts section, had a list of pros and cons about The Parish, including a unique view:  Ramon has performed at the venue before, so he can also speak from the perspective of a performer.  He said:

GOOD:
– One of the only music venues left actually on Sixth Street; rent has pushed most live music to Red River, letting the vital street be controlled by the bachelor dude and his legion of “adjective animal” establishments.
– Very open-ended in terms of booking – lots of diverse stuff; free scion hip-hop shows are a godsend.
– Aesthetics are off charts; beautiful cool hip room with great staff.
– Some of the best sound in Austin in terms of acoustics; the room is gorgeously decked out in wood paneling all over the place and the sound is vibrant.
– As a guy who has performed at the Parish twice with two different bands, I can tell you they treat talent well – drink tickets and they actually give you a green room when they plainly don’t have to.

BAD:
– Odd man out in transmission-c3 arms race, it rarely lands big game touring shows and makes due with some crappy bills that don’t deserve said stage.
– Often times door fees are overpriced given locale.
– Some of the people the venue lets book shows are morons with no clue. The third time a band I was in would have played the parish was on a christian rock bill.

Overall A+ establishment, though, again, I can’t stress how fantastically organized and presented their scion hip-hop shows are.

Chris Cusack, a UT ’04 alum and avid music fan, says that The Parish is his favorite venue in Austin. “Awesome sound, lots of room but still intimate, huge bar… The booking is pretty good there, not to mention Second Sunday Sock Hop.”

Katherine and me at the foot of the stage for Sondre Lerche!

Katherine and me at the foot of the stage for Sondre Lerche!

Finally, my pal Katherine Squier reflected on our joint experience of seeing Sondre Lerche at the venue last fall:  “I loved how small and intimate it felt, especially compared to the larger venues. Definitely felt very Austin-y. And I remember how they passed out like 20 posters of his to the first in line…I don’t know if all venues do that, but it was cool that they did. And I loved how after we were able to go to the other side of the room and talk with Sondre–I think this was mostly Sondre’s doing, but maybe a bit of it was the Parish? I dunno. Just thought I’d throw that out there.”

Some of my favorite concert memories occurred in the Parish, so I have a very special place for it in my heart. What is your favorite venue? Post it in a response, I want to hear about it!

Rock on and on,

-Caitlin

4 Responses to “Music Venue Spotlight: The Parish”


  1. 1 Samantha G. November 20, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    I used to go to the Parish a lot in 2005…or was it 2004. Anyway, the used to host these Scion sponsored Hip Hop nights that were awesome. They would bring in a lot of DJ’s that were really big in the 80’s like DJ Jazzy Jeff who is famous for the theme song for Fresh Prince of Bel-Air.

  2. 2 www.hendrickslabel.com September 29, 2014 at 8:32 am

    My brother suggested I might like this website. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. Yoou cann’t imagine just how much time I
    had spent for this info! Thanks!

  3. 3 Colour Banner Printing October 9, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    In full-color offset printing processes, desktop publishers must
    create four or even five separate plates to handle the different colors of ink applied by a
    printing press. The t-shirts are put on the stand in printing machine.
    Every customer wearing one of your promotional t-shirts is a
    walking advertisement for your business.

  4. 4 tisdory.com October 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

    What i ddo not realize is actually how you are not really much more well-appreciated than you may
    be now. You’re very intelligent. You understand thus significantly in the case of this matter, made me for my part conider it from so many
    varied angles. Its like women and meen aren’t fascinated excerpt it’s something to accomplish with Girl gaga!
    Your own stuffs outstanding. All the time maintain it up!


Leave a Reply

