Lady Bird Lake Love

After yesterday’s video downer, I decided to bring us back up again. I love our lake.

The beautiful Lady Bird Lake, seen through the trees. (Photo by Lewisisms)

The beautiful Lady Bird Lake, seen through the trees. (Photo by Lewisisms)

Formerly known as Town Lake, Lady Bird Lake was renamed for Lady Bird Johnson, a well-loved Texas icon who helped beautify the lake’s shorefront in the seventies. The lake is a reservoir on the Colorado River, and sits in the middle of downtown Austin.

I already mentioned how I love the city at night, and the lake has a great deal to do with this. I love the way the lights of our city play on the slow waves of the lake. I love it in the daytime too, though. There are so many fun activities involving our lake. You can go watch UT’s Women’s Rowing Team kick some butt, join Austin’s rowing club and do it yourself, go fishing, run around it on the hike and bike trail, or just gaze and relax. When I tried my hand at rowing as a freshman in college, I also got to jump in the lake for a brief swim – it was a little icky, but all in all not too bad.

Rowing at night on Lady Bird Lake. (Photo by Laura Mundee)

Rowing at night on Lady Bird Lake. (Photo by Laura Mundee)

Having a lake in the middle of the city really gives Austin a special kind of character. It makes everything seem more calm and fresh. And it is certainly something I adore about Austin.

-Caitlin

1 Response to “Lady Bird Lake Love”


  1. 1 pieper12 November 19, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    I totally agree with you Caitlin! I absolutely love Lady Bird Lake and really love how it is situated right in the middle of the city. It’s realy fun to run around it when they are setting up the Trail of Lights or when the lights are up! It’s just so cool to see that a city has something like this!


Leave a Reply

