Fun Fun Fun Fest 2008 Redux

Though Jane previewed this fabulous fest, it is now time to review it! This was my first year at the Fun Fun Fun Fest, and I can honestly add it to my list of reasons why I love Austin. I did a vlog about it, so that is forthcoming, but I wanted to briefly mention some bands I loved so I could link to them:  Bishop Allen on day one were fantastic, and the lead singer reminded me of Paul Simon, which is always a plus; The National on the first day blew me away, and it was especially moving that this was their last live show for a while; day two was dominated in my heart and mind by the Delware-ians, The Spinto Band – AMAZING, people; St. Vincent was the rockin’est female guitarist that I saw the entire festival; and finally, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah were energetic, great musicians and a ton of fun.

Now watch as I embarass myself with my sad, sad editing skillz. *NOTE* that Tim Barry from the Revival Tour does use profanity in his short segment, so when I introduce that in the video, you are welcome to fast forward through that part if it offends you. I just couldn’t leave it out, because I loved what he was saying!

-Caitlin

5 Responses to “Fun Fun Fun Fest 2008 Redux”


  1. 1 jackie November 11, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    sound like and look like you had a great time
    try to be there next year thank you

  2. 2 jeffbechdel November 13, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    Caitlin–loved your video. Your commentary was quite insightful for somebody who… really doesn’t know any of those bands. haha, sorry… I don’t know why I apologize, but I always feel bad for not knowing so much of the “new music scene” or whatever. My idea of a great music experience was seeing U23D last weekend at the Imax… haha. The social downfall of having older siblings, I suppose, is being really into bands that no one else your age is, haha.

    Anyway, if you’re looking for a great place to do audio records to overlay on video, there’s actually a studio right on the 4th floor of the CMA that any communication student can sign up to use. You might already know this, but until I started taking my Podcasting class, I had no idea. The equipment is amazing and returns some great quality stuff. Pretty soon our class will be posting our podcasts, so I’ll send along the link when we get it.

  3. 3 Samantha G. November 13, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    I love St. Vincent. She was originally in the band Polyphonic Spree which is awesome. Then she was in Sufjan Stevens’ band also very cool if you haven’t heard of these you should definitely check them out.

    Listen here:

    Polyphonic Spree http://www.last.fm/music/The+Polyphonic+Spree
    Sufjan Stevens http://www.last.fm/music/Sufjan+Stevens

  4. 4 Mollie B. November 13, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    funfunfun fest looked like it was awesome! so sad i didn’t make it out there. this was actually the first time i think i’d had even heard of the fest, and i thought i was gettin’ all into the austin music scene by FINALLY going to ACL…clearly i was wrong and missed out on some great music. Great video Caitlin!

  5. 5 Caitlin W November 14, 2008 at 9:28 am

    Thank you all for your awesome comments! I’m glad I helped some of you out:)

    Jackie, I hope you get to go next year! I’m sure you’ll have a blast.

    Thanks for the tip, Jeff – my sad little PC MovieMaker definitely does not have the highest production quality:-P

    Samantha, I LOVE the Polyphonic Spree. It was seriously my dream at one point to be in the group. A friend of mine knows someone who was in the group, which is pretty awesome! And of course Sufjan is spectacular. If you like him, you should check out Jens Lekman.

    No worries, Mollie – the music scene here is really hard to keep up with. There is ALWAYS a concert to see!


Leave a Reply

