Just Right

Nestled in the heart of Texas, Austin is home to around 743,074 people.  The city, the fourth largest in Texas, is also one of the fastest growing in the country.  This is one of the things I LOVE about this city – it is the perfect size!  I love that Austin is clearly a city, but that I don’t feel overwhelmed by it.  It has all the conveniences of city life, but boasts lots of parks and greenery for outdoor activities.  I have no trouble giving people directions – which is a feat for me in and of itself.  Basically, for me Austin is the perfect place to be, a great middle ground between my small town upbringing and the city I always longed for.

Town Lake

Town Lake

— Brittany

4 Responses to “Just Right”


  1. 1 Jeets November 10, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    The thing that makes me uneasy about Austin right now is that if I move away and come back in 20 years, I don’t think it’s going to be anything like it is now. In some ways, that’s cool. Very “we’ll always have Austin.” But you’re right. The city has a lot of things going for it right now, and I hope we’re able to keep the good things as we grow.

  2. 2 jeffbechdel November 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Sorry. Above was me. I forgot to log out of my other blog.

  3. 3 pieper12 November 12, 2008 at 9:36 am

    I agree with Jeff that the city rocks right now! With all of the construction going on, I just hope it doesn’t drastically change the city. But it was definitely a change from Dallas and I love the greenery you talked about!

  4. 4 Gregdi September 16, 2009 at 10:59 am

    Nice Blog.
    FYI, the caption for the picture under “Just Right” should read Lake Austin. Town Lake/Ladybird Lake flows through the city from Tom Miller Dam at Endfield Road to Longhorn Dam at
    Fiesta Gardens…


Leave a Reply

