Oh, the weather outside is. . .alright.

Expect an incredible update from me on Tuesday all about the Fun Fun Fun Fest and why I love it so. Tonight, because the fest is only halfway through, I am going to focus on a main feature of all music fests in Austin:  the weather.

Austin weather is super unpredictable. Sometimes it will be clear blue skies, but raining by the afternoon. At other times, a random cold front will push in and chill you to the bone in your I-thought-it-was-warm shorts. For some, this unpredictability is something they hate about Austin.

For me, I love this. I love that, as late as November, when Frank Smith played at 1:35pm, I was sweating and toasty in jeans and a button-up shirt with the sleeves rolled up, whereas by 8:50pm, when The National‘s stage difficulties were over and they came on to play their last show for “a long, long time” (according to the band,) my friend and I had already run back to the car to grab our jackets and huddle for warmth.

I love random rainstorms in the middle of the day.

I love how gorgeous a majority of Austin days are.

I do sometimes wish it was cooler a little longer (as I do love cold weather,) but ultimately, I love Austin weather just as it is, in all of its unpredictable glory. I type this even after shivering all of the way back to the car after the fest this evening. I even like the fact that I am caked in dust from Waterloo Park – it makes me feel like I take a part of the festival experience home. (Yes, I did even feel that way after my first ever ACL experience in Dust Bowl ’05.) Call me optimistic, but I love our weather!

Rock on this weekend, Austin.

-Caitlin

3 Responses to “Oh, the weather outside is. . .alright.”


  1. 1 Jane Kim November 9, 2008 at 10:48 am

    I love Austin’s weather too. The best part about it is that it’s dry. I hate humidity. In Korea, it rains for like a month and a half right in the middle of summer, and it is pretty gross. I do miss the snow though.
    I’m so jealous that you went to the fun fun fun fest!

  2. 2 Samantha G. November 10, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    I went to the Fun, Fun, Fun Fest for the first time on Sunday and liked the fact that it was so much smaller than ACL. I also found the very obvious distinction between punk music fans and indie music fan’s amusing.

  3. 3 Jackson National Life Insurance Company April 23, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, because i want enjoyment,
    as this this web site conations actually good funny stuff too.


Leave a Reply

