Oh, Kerbey

Ok, so we all know that Kerbey Lane is an Austin staple, famous for it’s queso and monster pancakes. The relaxed, homey feel of the restaurants and the um…interesting staff make Kerbey right at home in our city. I spent many a late night last year at Kerbey after shows and football games – the turkey avacado quesadilla is delicious.

That said, I have to go on a little rant about the new north location, which moved a little way up Highway 183 on August 21 — in a strip mall! This new Kerbey looks like a generic restaurant inside. There are no tell tale signs of the cool place it used to be. The old location was small, older and had interesting wall art. The new one has stucco walls with run-of-the-mill cheap art. If it weren’t for the sign, I’d never know it was a Kerbey at all.

New Kerbey Lane location

New Kerbey Lane location

Apparently my views are shared by several other people who have been to this new location and missed the flare of the old Kerbey. To read more reader reviews about the new Kerbey Lane location, read this Statesman article.

3 Responses to “Oh, Kerbey”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 10, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Hmm, I didn’t even know there was another Kerbey Lane going in. To be perfectly honest, my first trip to the original KL was just last weekend. I’ve been to the one on campus a million times, but the one on Kerbey Lane is beautiful inside. The unique feel really makes the place–I can imagine that the strip mall location… lacks this?

  2. 2 Caitlin W November 10, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I was JUST at this Kerbey on Friday, and you’re so right – it’s sooooo generic-feeling. It makes me sad, because a huge part of what’s great about Kerbey is the vibe. I felt like I might as well be sitting in a Chili’s or something. I guess it’s nice that it’s a little cleaner, and the tables are comfortable. Still. . .it just doesn’t seem right.

  3. 3 Samantha G. November 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I visited the original Kerbey Lane on Kerbey Ln. for the first time last Friday! It is different from the other Kerbey’s, it’s a lot more like a restaurant. I don’t know if I will go to the other locations every again after going to this one.

    I think everyone has their staple Kerbey menu item- I have 2 that I alternate between depending on my mood:

    – Veggie Taco w/ a side salad
    – Eggs Francisco (highly recommend!)


Leave a Reply

