Overheard at Spiderhouse Coffee

Random lines overheard at Spiderhouse, within about two minutes of each other.

No, it didn’t make any more sense in context. I’ve begun to wonder if one can become a hipster by osmosis. I’m afraid it may be possible.

  • “Mmm, gentle Austin liberals walking through their fields with flowers.”
  • “You won’t say that when the black helicopters show up.”
  • “Yes, I know the kitchen closes in half-an-hour, but it’s closed now.”
  • “Yeah, well, Ecclesiastes is my favorite book of the bible. All is folly! I tried fuckin’ everything, and it’s all folly.”
  • “I feel like people should be more like Ethiopians.”
  • “Mmm, the dick jokes are comin’.”
  • “Yeah, it’s like Jesus would have come back, but he realized we’re all wearing crosses around our necks.”
  • And, in response, “I feel like I should wear a rifle pendant around my neck for JFK.”
  • “No, man, Luke didn’t actually write Acts.”
  • “I feel like it’s nice that at 21 you can do something that’s previously illegal, but I feel like we should extend that. Like, every birthday you can do something that was illegal. When you’re 65, you can litter without penalty. Then if you can make it to 100, you can legally murder someone.”
  • “I, you know, I didn’t become doctor because, you know, I didn’t want to lose my fascination for the female breast.”
4 Responses to “Overheard at Spiderhouse Coffee”


  1. 1 Samantha G. November 6, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    YES! I hear this all the time. I have had to change tables before because I could not stop listening to incredibly interesting and unbelievable conversations going on around me…pretty amusing. Definately one of my guilty pleaseures..

    P.S. I am posting this comment from Spider House. I think I might do a follow-up to your post… “Overheard at Spider House Pt. 2.”

    Actually I think there should be an entire blog dedicated to this!

  2. 2 Brittany November 6, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    I feel like such a loser – I have never been to Spiderhouse. But after all it’s mentions in our blog, I may have to try it soon…

  3. 3 Samantha G. November 6, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    “He spray painted my face…”

    “The number one thing is I didn’t damage any of his property… I didn’t punch any holes, I didn’t break anything… I did spray paint F-YOU on the wall”

    “I took the picture of me down and spray painted an ‘X’ over my face”


  1. 1 Austin Coffee Shops « Love Hate Austin Trackback on November 10, 2008 at 12:12 am

Leave a Reply

