Ghostland Observatory

Poster by Jon Smith

Ghostland Observatory is an Electro/Punk band created in Austin. The band is a duo of front man Aaron Behrens and producer/drummer Thomas Turner. I would say their style is kind of like Daft Punk, who I also love.

They have 3 albums out up to date:
2005 – delete.delete.i.eat.meat.
2006 – Paparazzi Lightning
2008 – Robotique Majestique

The first song I heard by them was “Sad Sad City” from Paparazzi Lightning. I didn’t really like Aaron Behrens’ voice at first, because I have a thing against whiny voices, like Billy Corgan‘s voice. But also like Corgan’s voice, I found that Aaron’s voice was weirdly addictive especially when combined with their addictive beat. Now I can’t get them out of my head. I love it.

Here’s a video of them performing “Sad Sad City” live at Emo’s in 2007.

No doubt they are definitely part of Austin’s weirdness – Thomas Turner almost always wears a cape onstage for some reason. And it’s actually weirder that they did gain popularity in Austin, where electro-techno is very much under-appreciated and is considered gay.

In 2006 and 2007, the band played at the Austin City Limits Festival, and in Dec 2007, the Austin-American Statesman announced Ghostland Observatory as their band of the year. They were totally my band of the year also. Bands like them are one of the biggest reasons I love Austin!

Oh yeah, and they’re playing at Stubb’s next week, on Nov 14 and 15. Tickets are already sold out though.

Click on the logo below to go to a music player where you can listen to some of Ghostland’s music.

logo_music

-Jane

3 Responses to “Ghostland Observatory”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 5, 2008 at 12:27 am

    My first interaction with Ghostland was at ACL in 2006. I was with 3 of my friends and we were on our way to some other show (funny how I’ve forgotten who now) and approached their stage as they were playing “Silver City.” It ended up being their last song, but wow… they had complete control over the crowd (at the Heineken stage, if those of you were there in 2006. I think it changed to the Dell stage in later years?) I hope you got tickets!

  2. 2 Caroline Page November 6, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    I love Ghostland as well and my first experience with them was at ACL fest several years ago. Jane, I agree with you that I didn’t love their sound the first time I heard them (kind of how I felt about MIA the first time I heard her voice). Despite that, they put on an amazing show and I downloaded their music and became a fan.

  3. 3 Jacqueline May 31, 2013 at 3:28 pm

    If you buy a bottle as is, be sure to choose Extra Virgin Olive Oil.
    Natural rosehip oil can help to treat the dry patches; it can be applied
    all over your body, including your face. Its rapid penetration of the skin, and effective tissue
    repair has gotten this scar treatment ingredient recognized by industry
    leaders, but it to can be improved upon.


Leave a Reply

