Austin.. skyline??

Ok. I really have to differ with Jeff and Caitlin on this one.
Call me a snob, but for someone who came from a city that looks like this ↓

photo by Topic Agency/Getty Images

South Korea: Seoul Skyline, photo by Topic Agency/Getty Images

Frost Bank, Austin

Frost Bank, Austin


Austin’s skyline seems pretty non-existent to me.

Come on. You can practically count the buildings that can actually be counted as part of the “skyline” (like.. 7?) and the Frost Bank is the ONE building that has any aesthetic value.

I think that’s actually one of the first things I noticed about Austin.
It just felt like something was missing. Everything seemed so empty, and I couldn’t figure out why.
Then I realized it was because the entire sky was empty.

In Seoul, you have to crank your neck and look up in order to be able to see the sky because there are so many skyscrapers and high buildings. Here in Austin, you can see the sky in front of you – you barely have to look up.
Do you guys know how weird that is??
To be able to see the sky in front of you?
To me, that was one of the weirdest things to get used to here.

I mean, I guess maybe that could be a plus, since you have a wider, more open view. And it actually accounts for one of my favorite things about austin now – the great view of the sky. I’ve never seen skies the way I have been able to in Austin. But it also means that there’s just not much there.

I’m not trying to hate on Austin, and I’m not saying that every city needs to be crammed with huge buildings in order to be beautiful. Texas is a humongous state – about 7 times the size of Korea, but with only 1/3 of the population of Korea – so you really don’t need to build high since you have the space to build wide. And that is part of Austin’s beauty. But skyline-wise… it’s just not the most exciting place.

-Jane

9 Responses to “Austin.. skyline??”


  1. 1 jeffbechdel November 5, 2008 at 12:20 am

    I love your perspective, Jane! I absolutely agree that there are better skylines. I think it’s more of a sentimental thing for me. This is “my city.” Kind of like the idea that a mother will love her child no matter how ugly he/she is. Not that Austin’s ugly, but you get the point.

  2. 2 Lavanna Martin December 10, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    The CVC (Capitol View Corridor) is the reason that Austin’s Skyline is not built up. This has been in dispute since 1983.

    http://www.austinchronicle.com/gyrobase/Issue/column?oid=oid%3A479763

  3. 3 Jonathan Tan April 28, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    I would like to use your image of Seoul for a school project regarding cities and culture, and therefore would like to request for your copyright consent.

    Please let me know if this is okay via email
    lexovator_mhjpn@live.com

    Best regards
    Jonathan Tan

  4. 4 Austinite April 22, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Austin is beautiful. It does not look like Seoul because it is NOT Seoul. I hope it never gets as chaotic as Seoul. Austin is beautiful as is. Go BACK to Seoul if you want to have to look up at buildings all day long instead of looking up and looking at the sky. It’s because of people like you, outsiders, that Austin is changing into something different. I’m not opposed to growth, but new buildings should be made to complement the current buildings that are here, not take over. It’s because of people like you that my city is changing. And I don’t mean for the best. Go Back HOME if you don’t like it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. 5 Danny June 25, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    Hahaha austinite what the noel is wrong with you? All jane said is that it’s not the best place skyline wise and here you are going off on this crazy rampage telling her to go home. And why is it because of outsiders that Austin is changing? And let me get hid clear, Austin is NOT YOUR city. It is the peoples city. And hahahah outsiders? Oh did Jane and other Koreans or Chinese or foreigners just drag cranes and workers to Austin and jut randomly started building things? No. It was americans so get over your pathetic city.

  6. 6 quest serviced apartments September 25, 2014 at 6:17 am

    Facilities like ADSL internet with desktop, Foxtel cable TV with over
    50 channels, swimming pool, executive room, fully equipped
    kitchen in serviced apartment Melbourne fulfill your expectations in terms
    of yours stay. Serviced apartments Sydney offer a home like
    environment. If you are staying in a hotel however, you cannot cook
    food yourself. If you have children, you can never go wrong with this place.

  7. 7 serviced apartments top 10 london attractions October 2, 2014 at 1:46 am

    From the things covered in this article, there are so many cheap hotels in Adelaide,
    all of which have their advantages. Numerous tourists visit London either for business or leisure purpose.
    They are not meant to offer honest advice and are just sales tools.
    So what are the benefits of taking up office space in London.

  8. 8 internet service providers lotus ca October 3, 2014 at 10:50 pm

    Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of
    the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking
    issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.


  1. 1 #42 Get in the Car and Drive « 144 Things to Do…According to the Millennials Trackback on November 9, 2008 at 10:28 pm

Leave a Reply

