Texas Fight

Ok, this post is a little difficult considering the loss Tech just dealt our football team. But I am not a fair weather fan, and I still LOVE Texas football. So, I will press on…

I will admit to choosing to come to Texas partially because of it’s football team. My parents pushed for me to go to UTSA, and when I said no they asked, “What does UT have that UTSA doesn’t?” “The Longhorns,” I replied, and I was very serious. Coming from a small Texas town, football has always been important to me. I had a boyfriend and lots of friends on the team. There was nothing else going on Friday nights in the fall. So, the awesomeness of the Longhorn football program definitely appealed to me.

There is nothing like Darrell K. Royal Stadium on a game day. Thousands of UT fans in one place – it’s a beautiful thing. I have been to games we have won and games we have lost, and I feel like the fans never quit. UT football is always UT football, win or lose. It’s one of the many amazing things about the university that is brought out during football games.

So as difficult as the loss to #7 Tech was to swallow, I rooted for you to the bitter end Texas football players and still love ya’ll!

— Brittany

2 Responses to “Texas Fight”


  1. 1 Caitlin W November 2, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    Good for you, Brittany! I also try to be a fan, through and through. The games can be so taxing on your emotions, though! I find myself feeling physically anxious and ill when things aren’t going well. Whenever we lose, I try to put myself in the place of the other team and be happy for them. . .it’s more difficult when it’s Tech, I can’t lie. I only got to watch the second quarter of the game, though, and they definitely looked way better. And what an upset – the last SECOND. Our team is still in this. My fingers are crossed.

  2. 2 Caroline Page November 2, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    We obviously share a love for Texas football because we both wrote about it for one of our blog posts 🙂

    http://onefourfour.wordpress.com/2008/10/28/6-attend-a-ut-football-game-at-home-of-course/


Leave a Reply

