Hatin’ on the traffic.

On Halloween night, I would love to post about the wondrous spookiness that ensues around the wonderful city of Austin.  There will be a post about that. . .later.  Today, I have to hate.

Traffic.

Austin, I love you, but honestly, the traffic in this city every day from around 4pm (depending on the road you have to take) until 8pm.  Now, it could just be that I missed the memo that declared 5:30pm to be city-wide “every road becomes a parking lot” time, but based on the angry faces of the people around me, I’d guess that isn’t what’s going on.

Here’s my suggestion:  if people a) let people merge in a slow and steady streaming pattern (instead of pretending not to see them and rushing on ahead, forcing the next person to come to a complete stop. . .you get the picture,) b) remain patient and not become too agitated when you drive (which leads to accidents, or at the very least, unhappy other-drivers,) and c) switch to public transportation (granted there isn’t an ongoing strike, of course,) the roads would be a little less clogged and a little more happy.

I think this is important to keep in mind, particularly in lieu of the Cap Metro strike. Here’s hoping a settlement is reached soon!

If you have other “happy driving” suggestions, post ’em.

-Caitlin

3 Responses to “Hatin’ on the traffic.”


  1. 1 Jane Kim November 1, 2008 at 6:06 am

    I know. Driving downtown took soooo long.. omg.. I was ready to abandon my car. At least I had great free parking since I work downtown, I can’t imagine how much worse it was for people who had to drive around in that traffic to find a parking spot.
    People really should have more sense than to stop their car in the middle of traffic, just because they want to let their friends out on sixth street. If the light is green, don’t stop. Just keep going and let them out on the next stop. Better yet, turn into somewhere where you can stop. A little walking won’t kill them.

  2. 2 Kristin November 2, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Yes, agreed, it’s hard to love traffic. This is coming from someone who drives over 30 miles a day to go to and from practice. I go through exactly 27 lights…I’ve counted. To survive this seeming hell in the No. 1 worst traffic of a mid-size city in the country (AA Statesman did article on it last spring), I’ve come up with some tactics. I call them, “Red Light Entertainment” and they consist of the following distractions: crossword and sudoku puzzles (your steering wheel makes a pretty good table), magazine reading (always Entertainment Weekly for me), book reading (recently finished Twilight Saga), and finally- -on the odd rushed morning–makeup time. Cheers and happy driving!


  1. 1 #93 Road Trip! « 144 Things to Do…According to the Millennials Trackback on November 26, 2008 at 9:38 pm

Leave a Reply

