Capital Metro Strike

Sorry!  I know it’s not my day to post, but I thought this was too big to not mention.

Captal Metro is (more than likely) going on strike this Wednesday (Nov. 5).  During the stike, limited service will be offered on what are considered the “busiest routes.”  These include the 1, 3, 7 and 10 buses, along with several others.   A complete list of buses that will run, on limited service, during the strike can be found here.

Statesman transportation columnist Ben Wear has some useful information on his “Shortcuts” blog.  Wear writes:

The transit agency expects to run 70 vehicles — less than one-third of its usual 246 — on the first day of the strike.

“This is a conservative guess,” said Terry Garcia Crews, head of Capital Metros’ unit that supervises union workers

Service would run on 10 main routes from 6:00 am to 7:30 p.m with service at least every 45 minutes, possibly more often, depending on how many drivers are available.

It’s unclear when both sides of the dispute will meet again at the negotiation table.  The union had planned on striking Monday, but with Tuesday being election day, decided to delay the strike to Wednesday (gee, thanks).

As for how this strike will affect UT students and campus shuttles–it shouldn’t.  At least, that is, not directly.  The University issued a e-mail statement Friday morning:

At this time, we anticipate the UT Shuttle system will operate as normal, with increased ridership because of displaced mainline riders.

For those of you that utilize the mainline bus system to get to campus, please review the following information:

*Capital Metro will operate on a reduced level of service and only between the hours of 6am and 7:30pm on the following routes:

1L/1M, 3, 7, 10, 17, 20, 37, 101, 142, 214, 300, 331, 990


Finally, the Daily Texan story about the “looming stike” can be found here.  As someone who doesn’t have a car here and takes the 7 to work every Tuesday and Thursday morning, I’m more than a little concerned.  Arriving to work, sweaty from my bike ride to 9th Street does not seem like a legitimate alternative.

3 Responses to “Capital Metro Strike”


  1. 1 Brittany October 31, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    I like how they said that UT shuttle buses “will be a little more crowded than usual.” I live in Far West and already have to stand on the bus 90 percent of the time. I am not looking foward to this strike.

  2. 2 techhelpvideos.wordpress.com November 13, 2014 at 12:49 am

    I’ve been surfing online greater than 3 hours lately, yet I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like yours.

    It is beautiful value enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content material as you did, the internet can be much more helpful than ever before.

  3. 3 metro June 4, 2016 at 11:08 am

    Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I
    submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.

    Do you have any recommendations for inexperienced blog
    writers? I’d really appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

