Mozart’s Coffee Roasters

The first place I really fell in love with when I came to Austin is Mozart’s Coffee Roasters. It’s located on Lake Austin Blvd, right past the Brackenridge student apartments.
Honestly, as someone who was raised in Seoul, South Korea, which is one of the world’s largest and expensive cities with over ten million inhabitants, Austin was a little too boring for me. (I hadn’t discovered sixth street then.) I didn’t know the right places to go to, and all my friends were foreign exchange students as well, so they didn’t know either. Mozart’s was the one place they knew, and every time someone new came over they would take them to Mozart’s. We always complained how Austin didn’t have anywhere nice to just hang out – it’s only recently that the concept of interior design has been introduced to Austin, and it took a while for me to get used to Austin’s, let’s say “authentic”, sense of style.
Mozart’s doesn’t have great design, and come on, it’s a coffeehouse, so it isn’t really the most exciting place to go. But something about it just appealed to me. I think it may be the sense of peace you get there. In the evenings it does get a little louder with the live music but in the mornings it’s so peaceful to just sit there with a book, gazing at the lake while eating freshly baked quiches from their bakery.

Below is a video I made about Mozart’s, when I was first learning how to use final cut and get B-roll. It’s not a great video, but you’ll get a pretty good feel of what it’s like.

It’s pretty large, with a huge main deck where all the live music goes on, two inside areas, another deck, and then a downstairs deck right on the water. They have free wireless internet too, so you can sit there for hours and just study while drinking great coffee with no one bothering you. They have a great variety of coffee and awesome cheesecakes.
If you need a place to study but don’t want to stay in a stuffy library, Mozart’s is the perfect place to go. It’s also a good place to go and sit and have a real conversation with your friends instead of going to a bar or restaurant and have to yell over the loud music. All in all, I love Mozart’s!

4 Responses to “Mozart’s Coffee Roasters”


  1. 1 Caitlin W October 29, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Your video was so nice! I think it really captures the mood of Mozart’s. And I totally agree, I think it is a fantastic place to hang out. I love that it is RIGHT there on the lake (I looove to be by water,) and their desserts are absolutely incredible. They are also really pretty to look at! Good choice, Mozart’s is a great reason to love Austin.

  2. 2 jeffbechdel October 29, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Caitlin’s right, your video is really great. I’m also going to be really interested in hearing more about your perpspective of Austin. I get the impression that a lot of people (mainly from Texas) who come to Austin/UT do so with the expectation that it’s this epicenter of activity. I think Saul touched on this in his first post. But having come from Seoul (not just for this one reason) gives you a unique “starting point,” when interacting with this city of ours.


  1. 1 Austin Coffee Shops « Love Hate Austin Trackback on November 10, 2008 at 12:14 am
  2. 2 Coffee Bar Talent « Love Hate Austin Trackback on November 23, 2008 at 10:53 pm

Leave a Reply

