Not Everyone’s Live Music Capital

Austin is indeed called the “Live Music Captial of the World”, but I have noticed that this “Capital” lately doesn’t seem to include any of the bands I want to see. I HATE that these bands don’t seem to come to Austin. I almost invariably have to drive to San Antonio (usually to the White Rabbit) to catch shows. It’s an 83-mile, hour and a half drive that usually leaves me a little groggy and in less than a mood to stand for 3 hours during a concert. Meanwhile other Austinites are getting to drive less than 10 minutes to venues like Emo’s and Antone’s to catch their fave bands. (Might I add I have both been to and loved both of these venues!)

Photo By: Kristian Arcos

The drive paid off for me Friday, though. I caught one of my fave bands, Emmure, on the Cleansing the Nation Tour with Suicide Silence, Beneath the Massacre, After the Burial and Architects. As usual, Emmure put on a great show – they are SO great live. AND – I got to take a picture with lead singer Frankie Palmeri, which kind of made my week. For other Austinites who enjoy the same scene I do, if you also HATE that you can’t see the bands you love, I do recommend the drive down to the White Rabbit. It’s long yes, but it’s a great venue.

But what would really make me happy is if bands like Emmure (and Ligeia and Winds of Plague and other awesome metal and hardcore bands) would come play in Austin!

9 Responses to “Not Everyone’s Live Music Capital”


  1. 1 Jane Kim October 28, 2008 at 10:26 am

    I know!! All the concerts I ever wanted to go to always seem to be in Houston or Dallas. It sucks a lot.

  2. 2 Caitlin W October 28, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    I have heard through the grapevine that Elysium will sometimes host hardcore bands – have you ever checked this out? I definitely agree that there is a tilt towards the indie-hipster and country scenes here in town. But despair not! Fun Fun Fun Fest features some BIG name hardcore punk folks, like Bad Brains (!!!) and Dead Milkmen.

  3. 3 Saul October 28, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    The point of hardcore music isn’t to make you happy, Brittany. It’s to make you aaaaangry!

    Also, have you checked out Red 7? It’s apparently a pretty bitchin’ (read: nasty, grungy) hardcore club at 7th and Red River. I can’t vouch for it, as I’m not really into hardcore, but some hardcorier friends of mine really seem to like it.

  4. 4 Brittany October 28, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Yeah my boyfriend saw the Acacia Strain at Red 7 not that long ago – he said it was great. I look forward to checking it out in the future.

  5. 5 Tom November 7, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I think you’re going to have that sense of “pre-approved” music in Austin because as independent and ‘weird’ as the city proclaims itself to be, it’s heavily influenced by the influx of conservative-backed financiers who want their ‘weird’ to be as charmingly sanitary as possible. Sandals and socks? go for it! Hardcore, which could potentially damage the hand carved furniture in our custom-made 6th Street establishment? No thank you. On top of that, you’re dealing with smaller venues than you find in places like San Antonio or Houston, which don’t allow for the freedom of movement that hardcore aficionados demand.

    On top of that you’re always gonna have those people who see hardcore music and dance to be potentially dangerous and provocative of violence. Go ahead and look up Hardcore on Youtube and most of the concerts look like soundtracked fistfights. Regardless of the quality of the music, the picture it scares a lot of the purse-wielding churchgoers in this town.

  6. 6 facebook February 1, 2015 at 4:35 am

    An intriguing discussion is worth comment. I believe that you need to publish more on this subject, it may
    not be a taboo matter but typically folks don’t speak about
    such subjects. To the next! Kind regards!!

  7. 7 enviío discreta May 16, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Everything is very open with a clear description of
    the issues. It was definitely informative. Your site is very helpful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  8. 8 Alonzo Powell October 4, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    This website was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally
    I’ve found something that helped me. Thanks a
    lot!


  1. 1 A little hate, a lotta love. « Love Hate Austin Trackback on October 28, 2008 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

