Comm School Love

Ok, so it’s time for a little love. I will admit that, being from a small town where I graduated with 130 seniors, getting used to UT was hard. I felt so lost at first – a veritable small fish in a big sea. My freshman year was full of doubts, wondering if I had chosen the right school, if maybe coming to a place so big was a mistake. But it didn’t take long for me to realize I was exactly where I needed to be – and to fall in LOVE with the UT Comm School.

The Comm school here is really amazing. We have The Daily Texan, one of the nation’s top rated newspapers. There is also TSTV, one of the few FCC licensed student-run TV stations. We have an incomparable faculty, including my personal favorite Mr. Michael Whitney, a lecturer and J315 professor who worked as a producer for 60 Minutes and has won over 20 Emmy awards for segments he has produced. I have had a few great teachers, but he was the best!

I feel great belonging to a school ranked top in the nation for what it does. As a journalism major, I can’t think of anywhere I’d rather be!

3 Responses to “Comm School Love”


  1. 1 Caitlin W October 29, 2008 at 7:39 am

    Don’t forget KVRX! http://www.kvrx.org
    Our student radio station holds its own at every convention that we attend. And it also holds incredible fundraisers, like local concerts, etc.

  2. 2 Jane Kim October 30, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    I think we have a really great print journalism department but they do need a little more work in the multimedia department. I think they’ve been a little slow in catching up in that area. Other than that though, I love our Comm school too. Every professor I’ve had have been interesting and well-informed and all the students are awesome too 🙂

  3. 3 Tom November 7, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I’ve had the opportunity to read The Daily Texan (at least online), and I enjoy the variety of voices you get. That being said, I sometimes stumble upon stories in there that either make no sense at all, or seem to be platforms for the author’s political or social opinions (and not in the Op-Ed sections, either. For example, the recent review of Still Life With Iris bordered on the incomprehensible. http://www.dailytexanonline.com/1.898298


Leave a Reply

